Good things to eat

I’m kind of embarrassed  that a girl like me has never used the “ancient grain”  freekeh before.

I think I must have seen it on one of the cooking shows  and made a mental note to try it, but simply never got around to it.  So when I saw it on sale at my local store that mental note kicked in again and I picked up a box.

Freekeh

*********************************************************************************************************

I looked it up on line to see what exactly I could do with it and found that the options are endless.   Because essentially freekeh could be used in any way that you might use rice. The big difference is that unfortunately it is NOT gluten free for those of you who can’t tolerate it.  Oh well.

But for those of you who don’t have a problem with gluten, I suggest that you might like to try it.

I started with my  heavy bottomed pot with a lid and heated a little oil and then added:

  • one diced onion

and cooked till translucent, then added the well rinsed ( read the instructions on the package) freekeh into the pot and stirred it well to coat in oil and onion flavour!

Let cook for a couple of minutes and then add your water or stock, bring to a boil, turn down, cover with lid and simmer till done.  Just like you would with rice.

*********************************************************************************************************

Freekeh

*********************************************************************************************************

Just before serving, I stirred in a few toasted pine nuts and chopped almonds just to give it that Middle Eastern vibe but didn’t add too much else because I wanted to get a good sense of what it tasted like.

Freekeh

We really enjoyed it, found it much nuttier and chewier than rice and then it has this smokey flavour to it that really sets it apart from all the other grain products that can be used like this.  It was also quite filling and substantial feeling in your belly so you wouldn’t have to eat as much to feel satisfied.

I liked it a lot and now just need to source out a place that sells it in bulk because the package it came in was quite small and fairly pricy for what it was.

Please let me know if you have ever used Freekeh and what your experience has been with it.  I’d love to know.

nutrition

Comments on: "Getting my “Freekeh” on!" (4)

  1. How is it nutritionally different from rice? Is there an advantage to using it instead of rice?

    • All of those whole grains are more or less the same nutritionally, but the freekeh has a far more interesting taste because it has been “smoked”. I am sure you wouldn’t have a problem finding it in one of the many Middle Eastern stores in Montreal. See nutrition chart I have added to the original post for more info.

  2. Arlene Sher said:

    Too complicated for me. I’m still working on the rice instructions you gave me about 15 years ago..

What do you think?

