Good things to eat

Zucchini Snacks

Even Vegans eat snacks!

I find that sometimes an hour or two after your perfectly healthy dinner of ………whatever and salad……or whatever and rice, you find yourself just a little peckish before the nights end.

Popcorn helps.

And I found a way around the butter problem.   I make up a little concoction of:

  • melted coconut oil
  • dried garlic
  • smokie paprika
  • a little brown sugar
  • bit of salt
  • bit of ground pepper
  • even a dash of Tabasco if you are so inclined

Mix all that up and toss your freshly popped corn in it.

But when I say toss it in it…..I DON’T mean to the point of which everything is dripping in goo.

No, just enough that the oil is the vehicle for the other more intense flavours to have something to help them stick to the corn.   So a light “dusting” if you will.

popcorn

*************************************************************************************************************************

But then I noticed that I had a zucchini that was on his way out.  Just slightly too limp to eat raw and I must confess I am not a fan of cooked zucchini, so what to do?

Well……

I got out my trusty mandolin and shaved that zuck into nice thin slices.

zuccini snacks002

Placed them on a parchment covered tray.

Then I gave them an ever so slight brush of olive oil.

Then sprinkled the first batch with a little sea salt and cracked pepper.   While the second batch got dried garlic and a fairy dust touch of nutritional yeast.   If you’ve never tried nutritional yeast on snacks you are missing out!!  Tastes just like some salty parmesan cheese…..only for Vegans…….I think…….maybe some don’t eat it cause it’s “alive”?  Not sure……but it is delish!!

zuccini snacks003

Bung those in a low 300 degree oven and let them dry up.  Keep an eye because there seems to be a very fine line between perfect and burned.

I hate to admit it…..but I ate them ALL up!  A whole zucchini worth!!  WAY better than some pesky ol Pringle Chips!!

Try em!

zuccini snacks006

zuccini snacks010

Comments on: "Zucchini Snacks" (7)

  1. Jacquie said:

    Oh, man, these look delicious. I am *definitely* going to try them. I’ve done much the same with thin eggplant slices. Crispy eggplant, yum!

    • I’m thinking anything sliced thinnly with a little oil and salt could be pretty tasty and at least you are still getting the vegetable “goodness”!!

  2. The good thing about these kinds of things is you can adjust the amount of oil and salt to make them healthy. Or use other ingredients like chili flakes, lime and chopped garlic.

  3. Your popcorn ‘concoction’ sounds Delicious…and zucchini chips are a great way to get veges onto the kids plate:)

What do you think?

