Good things to eat

Vegan Mexican Night

Sunday’s are often “Mexican Night” at our house.

Nice way to wrap up the weekend with something flavourful, easy and satisfying!

So this week it was “vegan version” of what we usually have.

In one pot we have a batch of my “Super Easy Spicy Rice which is already vegan without any adjustments required.

Then in another pot I made up a batch of what would normally be the recipe for my “Pulled Chicken only without the chick of course.  Instead, just near the end I added a package of “Yves Italian Veggie Ground Round“.

*****************************************************************************************

Now just as an aside here and forgive me “real vegans” if I am crossing the line with you, but I’m not really sure that I get these “fake meat” products that you all seem to enjoy so much.

So if you are a Vegan for pollitical / ethical reasons then why eat something that seems like the stuff you are trying to stay away from?  

And if it is for health reasons……..then……..you can’t honestly make me believe  that some factory processed “meatless” product is that much better for me than say some slices of balony being produced at the factory next door?

If you have been following this blog for any amount of time, you will know that my number one philosphy is that I am a champion of REAL FOOD.  And I’m afraid that I can’t pronounce many of the ingredients in this product.  So how exactly is it better for me?

**************************************************************************************

And then rouned it up with some nice fresh black bean and pineapple salsa.

And to tie it all together, I made some home made torillas, according to the recipe on the back of the Mesa flour package.

And then of course a little dollop of Good ol Guacomole“,

and there we have it, Sunday night Mexican – Vegan Version!

Vegan II008

Comments on: "Vegan Mexican Night" (2)

  1. Yummmmmm: I love it too! 🙂 I eat, cook & bake vegan at least 5 times per week & so does my hubby: we feel better this way but can’t give up our organic meat: way too delicious!

What do you think?

