Good things to eat

Kinda Calzone

I guess to answer my own question of where do people even FIND my blog, I have recently signed up on some site that sends me all kinds of other blogs to read.

I found this one (click here) particularly intriguing, mostly because it was in Swedish!!

It is so interesting how it doesn’t really mater where you are from, people who like food, like food and like to talk about it!

While checking out this particular blog I found a recipe for something called Piroger and thought maybe it might be some sort of Swedish perogi.

Well it wasn’t, but it was a pastry type item filled with a delectable filling……so close enough

I was thrilled to find out that there  is a “translate” button.  I’m not sure if that is something built-in to that particular blogging software or just an internet thing…….but how great!!   So I clicked “translate” and I was in business!

I have to admit that some of the word choices or the sequence in which they are used are a little wonky but at least it gives you a good idea.  So please, I encourage you to not be afraid when you see foreign language food blogs!  You just might find some treasures!!

***********************************************************************************************************************

So I thought I’d give the Piroger a go.    In English they seem to be “Patties with turkey, thyme and paprika” which I admit isn’t quite as exotic but still a nice idea.

I didn’t happen to have any of the ingredients for the filling, but I really liked the idea of baking something tasty inside a bread like bun.

So I started by making up a batch of her dough and letting it sit for 30 minutes, as directed.

Then instead of the turkey filling, I made up a batch of my old favorite Nelson’s Beans and then let them cool right down to room temperature and then added about 3/4 of a cup of parmesan cheese just to thicken them up.

calzone002

What ever you decide to use as a filling and that’s what really excited me about this because I can see using all kinds of different things!  But whatever it is, make sure you make it with a think consistency.   You really don’t want to be putting anything too runny or oozy because it will just be too hard to keep inside the dough!

calzone004

So with my Piroger dough and my Nelson’s beans, I started to assemble my nice little patties.   I did add some salami into some of them because the Chef still likes his meat.

Then, as directed, let them rise for about another 30 minutes, then into a 450 degree oven until they get nice and toasty looking.

calzone005

Serve as you wish.

calzone008

What excites me about these it that they seem a perfect solution to my on going “work lunch” dilemma.   A nice little pocket of goodness that will taste great hot or at room temperature.

Thank you Praline in Sweden!

Comments on: "Kinda Calzone" (6)

  1. I`m glad you liked my recipe. You are right! These piercer are best meal for me for lunch or for my kids .When they are coming from school, they grab in piercer and only hot in the microwave. The easy way fast food med healthy

    • I`m glad you liked my recipe. You are right! These piercer are best meal for me for lunch or for my kids .When they are coming from school, they grab in piercer and only hot in the microwave. The easy way fast food med healthy

      • Oh thanks so much for writing to me! They were very yummy and I plan to make them again and again and try all kinds of different filling. I found the dough so lovely to work with. I am taking some for lunch to work today!!

  2. i was chuckling to myself & couldn’t get over “likes his meat” because that’s a good “that’s what she said!” line. Is that even appropriate on here…for me to say this??? and then you followed up with “let it rise” Now I know this comment is totally unappropriate, but blame it on the boys I work with!!
    oh jeesh, now I just defaced your very nice blog!!
    but anyway then I immediately (almost) got over all that when I saw that you got in touch with the original recipe-poster!! how cool is that?!

  3. Thanks for stopping by and liking my cheese and cornmeal muffins. These look delicious!

What do you think?

