Good things to eat

A better kind of sausage

So I am going into month two now of the “no gluten” experiment.

I really miss bread and the “gluten-free” stuff really just doesn’t cut it.  I mean I know they mean well but, I only eat it when desperate and only as toast!

But it is really hard to avoid stuff with flour in it!  It’s everywhere in everything!

I personally am a fan of sausage but it is an item them often has gluten in it if you aren’t careful.  And even when they don’t have gluten, they often have stuff like…..oh I don’t know…..SUGAR!!

So I decided, I’ll show em and just make my own damn sausage!

Now don’t get too excited, I didn’t go out and get a sausage stuffing machine or anything.  It hasn’t come to that just yet.

But it proved to be really quite easy and surprisingly tasty!

Here’s what I did.

In the food processor chop up:

  • 3 – 5 gloves of fresh garlic
  • 1 -2 green onions
  • 1/2 red bell pepper

Grind those up first and alone before adding anything else so they are nice and fine.

Then add:

  • 1 pound ( properly treat) ground pork ( I used lean but less lean will make it more “sausage like”)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup chick pea flour

Grind all that up till well mixed.

Then add the flavoring of your choice, I was going for sorta Mediterranean so I used:

  • 1 tsp fennel seeds
  • 1 tsp chili flakes ( less or more if you like)
  • 1 tsp “Greek spice mix”

When whiz em up some more till everything is nice and blended in.

Then, on a parchment covered tray, make patties or balls of your choice.  I made mine sorta “slider size”.

Bake in the oven at 350 for 15 minutes, then take them out and turn them over and give them another 15 minutes or until you are sure they are done.

Use at your discretion!

I paired them with some rice and some cabbage fried up with onion and a bit of tomato sauce.

Now that you mention it, does seem a little like “deconstructed  cabbage roll”!

Ha!

Sure were good and gluten-free!

What do you think?

