Good things to eat

Chicken Biryani

For the longest time I have wanted to make Chicken Biryani.

I’ve seen it on menus at Indian restaurants, but always end up ordering the Butter Chicken…..cause that’s the kind of girl I am.

And then in Canada we have a food product line called “President’s Choice” which is associated with a chain of grocery stores and so The President……who’s choice I’m assuming these products are……who seems like a fun enough guy, is always doing these funny commercials for his stuff.  And lately he’s been flogging the President’s Choice frozen Chicken Biryani.   So I’ve REALLY wanted to eat some!

Then I went on-line to just “look up” a recipe!  Easy enough!  Only it seemed that every recipe I seemed to find was a long drawn out ordeal that I just couldn’t be bothered with!!

Then along came my blog friend at Frugal Feeding with a lickedy split recipe for Chicken Biryani that will knock your socks off!

Well, let’s just say, you’ll really like it!

I followed his recipe to the “T”  (except for the Bay leaves, which I never seem to have and find tedious)  which, if you are a regular visitor to this blog, you know I sometime can find sticking to recipes a bit challenging!  But this one was great!

The Chef and I ate this…..till we could eat no more!!

Chicken Biryani

Comments on: "Chicken Biryani" (12)

  1. Looks delicious…one of my all-time favorites:)

  2. LOVE anything Indian! Planning an Indian meal for Saturday night…will check out the recipe! 🙂

  3. This looks yummy & my mom loves rice & Indian food.
    but need a little help with the ingredients…
    What is cardamom (although it did just come up in my phone speller so I guess I should know what this …if my phone does, it must be common knowledge!)
    And how do you get it ” bashed”???

    • Cardamon is becoming fairly mainstream in grocery stores with bulk sections. It is a spice that comes in a little dried green pod. It is kind of hard and you can’t really just eat it….kind of like a clove in that way. So either you could pulverize it in a coffee grinder to a dust, or if you had a mortar and pestle you could “bash” it. Or even just give it a few good whacks with a heavy knife or even hammer before putting in the dish……but then you might have to fish it out if you can find it before eating…..kinda like Bay Leaf. Hope that helps.
      And worse case scenario…..just don’t use it……it is just another layer of fragrant flavor but not the end of the world if it’s not there! Hope you make it! It’s really great!

  4. […] rice when I made a pilaf out of it about a month ago, and when What Have We Got Here? posted a Chicken Biryani recipe, I knew I had to make it, paleo […]

What do you think?

