Good things to eat

Sprouting 101

Now I don’t want to cast any aspersions on any of those nice people who want to sell you those fancy sprouting machines and equipment, but if I have to be completely honest with you, it really isn’t that big of a deal!

It is SO easy and so nice to be able to have something so alive all year round!   And, I don’t know when the last time was that you bought sprouts, but they don’t come cheap!   The other day I was at the regular grocery store, not even the fancy store that charges even more, and I was looking at a small clam shell of mixed bean sprouts and it was over FIVE dollars!

So I came home and decided to make a batch of my own!!

I had a quick look round my pantry jars and took out a scoop of this, a handful of that and a spoon or two  of that.

  • dried chickpeas
  • dried mung beans
  • dried azuki beans
  • dried small black lentils

Get yourself a large Mason jar.   Or I also have these big industrial size pickle jars that I sometimes use, but it depends on how much I’m making.

I also have this great little stainless steel mesh thingy that fits in the top of the Mason jar which works great for sprouting, but just plain old cheese cloth can work just fine too.

Sprouting screen

Start by putting the dried beans into the jar and filling it with water. 

Let them soak in the water for a minimum of 8 hours!

Then, dump out the water.   Fill the water up again.   Swish the water and beans around and then dump out the water.

Then lay the jar on its side and leave it there.  Try to not leave it in the sun.  Just on the counter somewhere is fine.

Then for the next couple of days, morning and night, fill up the jar with water, swish the beans around, drain the water, repeat at least twice.

After a day or two you will see the sprouts begin to poke out.

Keep rinsing and swishing for a few days until everybody looks like they have sprouted.

Then pour them out of the jar into a cullender and rinse thoroughly in cold water.

Make sure they are well drained ( or else they will mould) and then put them into a nice container and keep them in the fridge until you are ready to use them.

Bean sprouts

Comments on: "Sprouting 101" (5)

  1. Linda Duguay said:

    I love this tip. Thanks Lorrie

  2. I’m SO doing this! They are so expensive at the store! And I love them–so good for you!

  3. […] and to revive homemade recipes for everything from soap to lipstick. We started growing our own sprouts and making our own bread with new old grains such as spelt and flaxseed. This movement levelled off […]

What do you think?

