Good things to eat

This one is a great summer time crowd pleaser and great for a bar b que.   They are also very versatile because you can literally stuff them with anything.

Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

But today I have done them with a spicy Italian sausage filling.   Here’s how it goes based on enough for two mushrooms:

  • Portobello mushrooms, cleaned up and stem removed
  • mushroom stems finely chopped
  • 1/2 pound bulk Italian sausage meat
  • 1/4 cup bread crumbs
  • 1/2 bell pepper diced small ( I used red and yellow for colour)
  • 1 tbsp dried oregano

Mix up very well.  I just use my hands to which is much easier than mixing with a spoon!  Once the mixture is mixed take half of it and jam it into the mushroom cap.  Make sure it is well stuffed and then push it down some more and smooth it out till it is well in there and not over flowing.

Repeat with the other.

Place in a casserole dish and cover with tin foil and put in a 350 oven for about 30 – 40 minutes.

Now if it were me, I would do this regardless of whether or not I was bar b queuing them, just to make sure they are well cooked.   They can always be finished on the BB or reheated there.   But I guess it is up to you and your confidence in the BB situation.

After the suggested cooking time, remove tin foil.   I then topped with some grated smokie cheddar ( or cheese of your choice) and put them under the broiler for 5 – 10 minutes till the cheese melts and starts to brown a little.

Serve with your favorite sides!

********************************************************************************************************

These really are easily made for anyone though.   You could use ground beef instead or a combo of rice and lentils and veg and or all kinds of combos!   I would suggest if you aren’t using something as “juicy” as sausage to put a few drops of olive oil in the bottom of the mushroom before adding other fillings so that it doesn’t become too dry.

You could probably have a different stuffed mushroom every night for an entire summer and never have the same one twice!

Let me know if you come up with any wild ones!

Comments on: "Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms" (6)

  1. You are making me hungry!

  2. […] had some left over spicy Italian sausage from my STUFFED PORTOBELLO MUSHROOMS the other day so I started with […]

  3. These look great! 🙂
    I’m probably going to make my stuffed mushrooms meatless, but I like these ideas! (I’m compiling ideas so I can make some for supper tonight.)

    Bonnie

  4. […] To be honest, I probably could have just eaten a big bowl of the stuff by itself.   But instead I used it as a side dish with a spicy sausage stuffed Portobello mushroom. […]

What do you think?

