Good things to eat

The weather hasn’t really been co-operating too much this year.

It hasn’t been very sunny or warm, but things are still doing their best to grow!

I have had to bring the poor chard back inside because those pesky birds had a go at it!  I’ve never had so much trouble trying to get something as usually hardy as chard to grow!!

Swiss Chard

*******************************************************************************************************

I also had to bring the tomatoes back inside as well.  They have been outside for a couple of weeks but it got so windy the other day, I thought they might fall over.   I have tied them up on sticks but I wasn’t sure it was helping.  They are only now starting to show a couple of flowers here and there.  Will be lucky if I get tomatoes by October!

Tomatoes

*****************************************************************************************************

There is a new addition to the balcony garden.  Last week at the farmer’s market I picked up a patty pan squash plant.  I’m hoping that will turn out to be fun!

Patty Pan Squash

*****************************************************************************************************

The potato plant on the other hand, is freakishly big and thick, I hope the potatoes grow a big!

Potato plant

*******************************************************************************************************

The purple cabbages are coming along nicely but today I was being terrorized by two squirrels playing tag all over the balcony and stomping all over the cabbage.   I chased them and squirted them with the water bottle but they just laughed in my face!

Purple cabbage

*******************************************************************************************************

The beets are coming a long nicely, but much like the potatoes, we can only see what’s going on with the foliage and not what’s growing underneath!

Beet plants

*******************************************************************************************************

And last but not least, I am FINALLY seeing a few bean sprouts squeezing through the dirt!  I had just about given up on them.

Sprouting beans

Comments on: "Growing stuff – June 8th" (4)

  1. roxanne said:

    i love how you grow food!! (as opposed to just decorative plants)
    i hope the beets turn out. love them!

    • Although I do grow a few flowers too. Brings the bees by which helps the veggies grow! Looking forward to the beets, this is the first time I’ve tried growing them.

  2. You are doing well with your container garden! I also grow beets, 2 green courgette plants, 1 yellow courgette plant, herbs, salads, all sorts, & chili plant & cherry tomatoes! Just like where you live, there was a lot of wind here today in Belgium so i put everything in my living! Good luck with it all! 🙂

What do you think?

