Good things to eat

Blueberry Crumble Cake

The other day one of my fellow blogger friends at Frugal Feeding, posted this very enticing cake recipe.

What with blueberry season just around the corner, I thought why not try it out and be prepared!  Blueberries ARE a superfood after all!!

So I started with his original recipe  ( click here to check it out ).

Now I have to confess, that even though we use the metric system in Canada, I have no idea how much any of these measurements are.  Nor did I have the patience to look up the conversions so I just kind of “winged it”.

If you cook / bake a lot you will have a general idea of ratios of things and can get away with it.  But if you are serving it to other people and NEED it to be right……I suggest you look up the conversions if you don’t know them.

I followed everything as instructed.  The only differences and they are barely note worthy is that I added a bit of cinnamon and flax seeds to the “crumble” mixture        ( mostly cause I didn’t have quite enough oats).  And then instead of adding the blueberries to the “crumble” mixture, I added a layer of them to the top of the “cake” portion and then covered them with the “crumble” mixture.  And then tossed a few random berries on top for show.  This was mostly because I had a lot of blueberries to use up.

It turned out VERY tasty!  We nearly ate the whole thing!!

I am hoping there will be some left when I get home to enjoy with a lovely cup of tea!!

Thank you Frugal Feeding!!

Comments on: "Blueberry Crumble Cake" (6)

  1. Awesome! Looks great. Really glad you enjoyed it as much as I did!

  2. Tasted great !

  3. Oh, how I love a blueberry crumble cake! Both yours and Frugal’s look deeeelightful!

  4. MMMMMMMMMMMM,…What more can I say?

What do you think?

