Good things to eat

Bread in a pot

I had some bad news over the weekend.

And what’s the best thing to do when you get bad news?  Well, make bread of course!

I saw this technique while I was “stumbling” on the internet recently and thought “Hmm…that looks interesting” and believe me, it IS!!

The original recipe  Click Here

I followed the instructions exactly as they are written, no adding my own little this or that!  Except for the additional flavours, instead of any of her choices I used fresh chopped cilantro, lemon zest and dried garlic, cause that’s why I happened to have around.

I was also THRILLED to finally find a use for this cast iron dutch oven I have.  I had bought it a couple of years ago because I thought I was going camping……but as it turned out……I didn’t…..and actually have never been camping!  But I had this pot, which I like, but I don’t know if you know this but you can’t really cook things with tomato in plain cast iron.  Something to do with a reaction of the two that causes some unpleasant taste, and seeing as I envisioned it as my “chili pot”…..well…..it didn’t work out and it has been sitting on the shelf waiting to be used.

Well this was the pot’s chance to shine!!

So, like I said, I followed everything exactly.  Prepared the dough late in the  afternoon, and let it sit over night and then baked it in the morning.

I swear, I really DID try to let it cool!!

But the smell was too overwhelming.  It took all our strength to not gobble down the whole loaf!  Warm and soft on the inside and golden crispy on the outside.  Few pats of delicious butter………it was heavenly!

And just what you need when you are feeling a bit sad!

And then it made great toast the next day and even better croutons for the Caesar Salad!

Comments on: "Bread in a pot" (13)

  1. Linda Duguay said:

    Sorry your feeling sad but your right home made bread will fix almost anything. xoox

  2. That IS the truth!

  3. Don’t feel sad! Look at the bread! What AMAZING bread.

  4. I’m so sorry you’re sad, but not that it forced you to make some really delicious looking bread! I’ve seen this before and never tried it. I just might now! And I hope it helped cheer you up. 🙂

  5. You know it! If bread like that can’t cheer you up…..time to toss in the towel!

  6. […] Saturday afternoon I put on a batch of “Pot Bread“ to fester so it would be ready to bake Sunday […]

  7. […] I popped a batch of  BREAD IN A POT into the oven that had been “festering” over night and will take it out in a few […]

  8. Looks amazing! Gotta try this with flours I can have and see what happens… thank you!
    ~ Hoda

  9. […] recipes for everything from soap to lipstick. We started growing our own sprouts and making our own bread with new old grains such as spelt and flaxseed. This movement levelled off for a while, but with the […]

  10. […] I decided to do it the lazy way and just use the old faithful POT BREAD tried and true recipe but toss in some […]

What do you think?

