Good things to eat

Sorta Miso Soup

I say “sorta” because it is my version and not traditional Miso soup.

Then again, just by vertu of containing miso……doesn’t that constitute Miso soup??

I started with some vegetable stock I had in the fridge.   As I prepare various vegetables during the week, I always seem to have butts and stems and bits that are perfectly good food but they just don’t go with what I’m making.  Like the bottom of the broccoli or asparagus or the middle of a cabbage that isn’t quite as perky as it should be.  I save all this stuff up and then once a week or so I toss them all in a pot with a chopped carrot, onion and celery, or whatever is laying about and needs used.   I cover them with water and add a bit of salt and maybe a little poultry seasoning ( which is mostly sage and such) and simmer them up till they give up their goodness.  I strain it off and then I have lovely vegetable water to do things with!

So I started with some of that, about 2 cups, in a pot and brought it up to a boil.

Then I added:

  • about 1/3 of a block of tofu cut into cubes
  • 2-3 thinly sliced cremini mushrooms
  • 1/2 a carrot cut into match sticks
  • 1/2 small red pepper cut into tiny cubes
  • 2 stocks of kale, ribs removed and finely chopped
  • what ever else you feel like adding

Bring that up to a boil and let simmer a few minutes till the veg gets a bit cooked.

Then turn off the heat and add:

  • 1 – 2 tbsp of your favorite miso paste depending on how salty you enjoy

Stir it in quickly and serve. 

It is important to NEVER boil miso.   Heating it too much kills all the good fermented enzymes in it and defeats the purpose.  I mean it isn’t dangerous or anything, but  you aren’t getting the bang for your buck!!

I topped it with some sliced green onion.

This is a great soup to eat after you have over indulged in some way.  It is very calming and makes you feel good.

Miso Soup

Comments on: "Sorta Miso Soup" (3)

  1. Oh I love miso soup!

  2. Yum. That’s all. Just YUM.

What do you think?

