Good things to eat

Kale crackers

I was standing around in the grocery store yesterday and was fed up with the price of “good for you” type crackers.

It’s a shame really how the “real” food is so expensive while the sugar leden nutient free stuff is so cheap!  And you wonder why people are so ill…….don’t get me started!

Anyway, I refused to waste money on any of them because I know I can make something WAY better for you and I know exactly what is in them!

As you may have gathered by now, I am a huge fan of kale and like to use it anywhere I can!

Oddly I had some in the fridge that was just about to expire ( weird cause usually it gets used before!).  So I tore up about two big leaves worth and put them into the food processor, with 2 cloves of fresh garlic and 3 green onions ( the whole thing).

I whizzed that up till they were all chopped down to a nice green paste.

Chopped kale

Then it was pretty much a case of the usual cleaning out of the pantry style I seem to enjoy.

I got out the mini coffee grinder and buzzed up a few of my own “flours” out of a few things.  So the measurement would be “one coffee grinder full” but let’s say 1/2 cup just for argument’s sake.

Ground lentils

So 1/2 cup of:

  • ground red lentils
  • ground oat flakes
  • ground flax seeds
  • whole flax seeds
  • corn flour

Then whiz that up.

Then add:

  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • few grinds fresh black pepper

Grind that up and check the consistency.  Mine was still a bit loose so I added about 1/4 cup of water and blended again.  You want it to be the consistency of a nice thick paste.

Cracker dough

Then turn it out onto a baking tray lined with parchment ( I had enough for two trays worth ).

You can use a spatula to spread it out thinly although for some reason it was particularly sticky today so I covered it with another layer of parchment paper and took the rolling-pin to it.

Roll out dough

Peel off the paper, clean up the edges and then score it into what ever shapes you’d like.

I just did boring squares.

You can then top them with some very coarse salt of your liking…….or not.

Score the cracker dough

Then put them in the oven at a low temperature no more than 300 degrees but 250 or even 200 would be fine.  Because it is almost as though we are drying them rather than baking them.   That way they don’t get over done.

Let cool and enjoy with your favorite topping or plain.

Kale crackers

And you will know exactly what is in them!!

Comments on: "Kale crackers" (10)

  1. I love this idea! Really cool. Also, their colour is fantastic, so much prettier than a normal cracker.

  2. Tamara Lukie said:

    these look AMAZING!!! thanks so much for sharing!!!!

    T

  3. I think this would be a good place to hide vegetables for the kids!

  4. So much cheaper than buying crackers all the time and I love the colour. I’d love to try making something like this! x

  5. These look great! And I completely agree with you about how the crappy food is so cheap and the good food is so expensive. Then they stick us with high health-care costs. Let’s beat them at their own game!

What do you think?

