Good things to eat

Immune booster

I was feeling poorly this weekend.   That doesn’t usually happen too often anymore but I guess this time of year we can all get it.

It was time to bring out the arsenal of “remedies” I have in my bag of tricks.

First I took a few drops of oil of oregano in a small glass of water and tossed that down.  If you’ve never had it, well, it’s an acquired taste, but a very strong anti-microbial that will kill nasty germs!

Then I gargled with warm salt water.  Always an old stand by for any problems involving the mouth and throat.

And of course took a bunch of Vitamin C.   Remember when taking Vitamin C supplements to take what’s called “Ester C” which means that it is buffered for easy absorption, other wise you will just end up with expensive pee!

My throat hurt so bad that I had to resort to the old childhood practice of slathering my neck and chest with Vicks Vapo Rub and donning a turtle neck to bed.  Oddly during my holistic schooling I never once questioned or looked up just WHY Vicks is of benefit.  Probably something to do with the Eucalyptus?  But I think it is the idea of it that makes you feel better, brings you back to a time when someone took care of you when you were sick!

Then I remembered something that I DID learn about in holistic school.  It is a product called CHYAWANPRASH.   It is an old Ayurvedic preparation that does wonders for the immune system.

Chyawanprash

It is a thick paste like stuff, kind of like jam only thicker.  It has  pretty intense flavour and is quite spicy but not unpleasant.   There are different ways to enjoy it, like just taking a spoonful of it and slowly licking and sucking on it like you might do with a spoonful of cake icing!

The lady at the East Indian store where I get this said that when she was a kid, her mother would dissolve it in some warm milk and give it to them like that.

I’ve heard tell that a spoonful of this in the morning all winter will keep the boogie germs away!

Chyawanprash paste

Comments on: "Immune booster" (2)

  1. […] also recommended that you pick yourself up some of the star ingredient Chyawanprash and to use it regularly even if not in the […]

  2. My brother recommended I might like this website. He was entirely right.

    This post actually made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

What do you think?

