Good things to eat

Dried Apple

It’s that time of year when apples are in abundance!

My friends have a big apple tree in their back yard and every time I go round I end up coming home with a big bag fruit!   So I keep trying to find interesting things to do with them.  The Chef has already made the obligatory “Apple Crisp” and even “Apple Strudel” but I wanted to take it a step further.

A few years ago when I was on one of my many “RAW FOODS” kicks I bought a food dehydrator and try to use it when ever I can. 

Dehydrator

Why not some dried apples?

Drying things is really quite easy with this machine.   Just slice it up, put it on a tray, turn it on and leave it for a few hours and before you know it, you have dried things!

Dehydrator trays

 
So what you need first is some nice apples.
 
 
 
 

Juicy apples

 Then you want to core them and cut off any blemishes.  I have a handy dandy apple corer.

Trim and core the apple

Then you will need to slice the apple super thin.  I have a mandolin slicer but to be honest, I have several and I’m not too happy with any of them.  But this is the one I have most luck with.
 

Mandolin slicer

 
Slice the apples.  You could put them directly in the dehydrator now and get started or what I did was put them in a bowl and sprinkle them liberally with cinnamon.
 

sliced apple

 
Lay them on the dehydrator trays.
 
 
 
Put them in the machine, turn it on and walk away!  Depending on the liquid content of what you are drying they can take anywhere from 8 to 14 hours.   I put it on in the morning before I left, cause to be honest, it’s just a little bit loud.
 

Apple chips

After 10 hours I had beautiful apple chips!
 

Box of dried apple chips

The big question now?   What do I do with them?  Any ideas?

*********************************************************************************************

Comments on: "Dried Apple" (5)

  1. Your machine looks interesting. What would I do with the dried fruit? Mix them with some raisins and nuts (walnuts, almods, cashews) and make my own trail mix. Yum.

  2. A Tablespoon of Liz said:

    I love dried apples! I’ve never used a mandolin to slice them though… It makes so much more sense than slicing them with a knife… I’ll have to remember this for next time!

What do you think?

