Good things to eat

“Cookie Free” cookies

The Chef comes across a lot of people with “special dietary needs” in his line of work,  people with a lot of allergies, or needing gluten-free or vegans and the like so he is always looking for new and interesting things to offer them.

He told me about this one poor guy. He had Celiac disease   and was a technician with a big touring show that spent a week or two in each town and was at the mercy of whatever the local catering had to offer him.  He begged the Chef for some decent food because in the last town he’d been, all they could think to feed him was chunked ham, mayonnaise and grapes.  Three times a day!!

So the poor guy was just thrilled when the Chef served him up all kinds of gluten-free delights.  In fact he was so happy, he took pictures of everything and put it on his own blog!

The point of the story is that just because you have a food sensitivity or issue or even personal food belief, you do NOT have to be limited to ham and grapes!

I was clicking around and came across this recipe that intrigued me so.  The recipe is called “Hummus Balls”  ( click here for the original recipe ) because they are cookies made from chick peas!

The beauty of these are that they can accommodate may food issues.  They are gluten-free, dairy free, egg free and Vegan!  And then depending on the sweeter and chocolate chips you choose to use they can be diabetic friendly too!   And with the chickpeas and nut butter in them, they are chock full of protein! 

That is the only people they won’t accommodate though, the nut allergy people.  But often people with any of those other issues use nuts as an important part of their diet.

When I tried making them I must have put a bit too much almond butter in ( it was the end of the jar so I just put all of it in without measuring ) so the batter was a bit to squishy to handle and roll into balls.  I just used the two spoon “drop cookie” method and they worked out just fine!

I will definitely try them again and be more diligent to get them into balls.

Chickpea cookies

Comments on: "“Cookie Free” cookies" (8)

  1. Excellent job. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Shane Bradley said:

    Hi Lorrie;
    We met a couple of years ago at Holly Bradley’s place in Nanaimo. I’m Holly’s brother, Shane. I was visiting Holly a few weeks ago and had Thanksgiving dinner with Mandy, Holly and her children. Mandy told me about your blog and I enjoy it. Thanks for taking the time to put this out there. As a return, I’ve wormed through my own diet issues and found the following GF free site chock full of goodness http://gluten-free-reality.blogspot.com

    Keep up the good work and thanks from Montreal 🙂

    • Hey Shane! Of course I remember you! I was very confused when you signed up for the blog because it will tell me that someone has signed up and where they are from, but they said Burlington Ontario?? But I was talking to Mandy and she said it was in fact you! Thanks for signing up. And glad to hear you are doing better with your own issues. All the best.

      L

  3. Wow! Must-try! Connects to my last blog too!

  4. Oh, Chef! Saving the world one small bite at a time…

  5. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it smart. I can not wait to read much more from you. This is actually a wonderful website.

What do you think?

