Good things to eat

Spanish class

The Chef and I have signed up for Spanish class!

Seems a reasonable thing to do what with winter approaching.  We can speak to people like we are somewhere hot!

And I thought what better than to eat Spanish food before we head to class to get us in the mood?

So this time I made paella!

Now of course I can’t eat shellfish so when I say paella what I really mean is sausage and chicken in rice!  Feel free to look up a real recipe if you’d like actual Spanish paella because I’m just doing the best I can with what I’ve got!

As per usual I just happened to have a selection of sausages in the freezer, so I used a combo of chorizo, farmer’s and a cabassa type sausage.

You will need:

  • Sausage of your choice
  • boneless chicken
  • 1 onion
  • 3 cloves fresh garlic chopped
  • 1 tablespoon smokie paprika
  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 pinch saffron threads
  • 2 cups uncooked rice
  • 1 cup crushed tomato
  • 3 cups water or stock
  • 1 red bell pepper, coarsely chopped

Then

  • zest and juice of one lemon
  • 1/2 bunch chopped fresh parsley
  • handful of raw peas

In a large skillet, add some olive oil and start cooking the sausage and chicken.  When the sausages are mostly cooked or at least firm, remove and slice into bite size pieces and return to the skillet.  Make sure to catch any juice that escapes and put that back in the pan too.  Do the same with the chicken if it isn’t already in small pieces.

Then add onions, garlic and red pepper and stir into the sausage and chicken.  Add spices and stir well.

Then add uncooked rice and make sure it is well distributed and mixed in, let cook for a few minutes.

Then add the liquids ( tomato, stock or water).  Stir well, turn up and bring to a boil.

**********   This would be a good place to add shrimp if you can eat that sort of thing***************

Once it reaches the boil, turn it down to medium low ( I turn down to #2 on my dial) put the lid on securely and let cook until the rice has absorbed all the liquid.

The time will depend on what kind of rice you have used.

When it is ready add lemon juice, zest and parsley.  Stir in.

Top with raw peas or not.

No fish paella

Comments on: "Spanish class" (2)

  1. Well this sounds awesome! (Both the recipe and the Spanish class.) You’ll probably be posting in Spanish soon, and then I’ll have to use google translator to read your… wait. I’m sure that’ll take a while, right?

    • It hasn’t quite come to that yet. But we want to know how to order food!! So far I only know how to say beer, chicken and potato! But that’s a good start!

What do you think?

