Good things to eat

Quinoa pudding?

The Chef has a sweet tooth so I am always looking for “alternative dessert” items that aren’t laden with sugar!  If it were up to him it would be all ice cream all the time.   That simply isn’t practical.

I saw this, or something like this on one of the “healthy sites” and thought I’d give it a try.

Quinoa is great stuff.  It is the only thing in the plant world that is considered a “complete protein” which for vegetarians and vegans is great because getting all your proper protein in a day can sometimes be a challenge.

So here’s what I did.   I took:

  • 1 cup of quinoa ( I happened to only have the red kind but any will do)
  • 1 cup of apple juice ( I am thinking that sweetened almond or rice milk would work too)
  • 2 cups of water
  • a handful or two of dried fruit ( I used raisins)
  • 1 teaspoon of warm spice ( I used my “pumpkin spice” combo but just cinnamon is fine)
  • juice of half of a lemon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla ( real is best but extract is fine in a pinch)

Put water in a medium sauce pan with salt and bring to a boil.   Then add the well rinsed quinoa, let it come back to the boil, then put on the lid and turn it down to quite low.  I turn it two #2 on my dial, not sure what that would be at your house.  Let simmer till all the liquid is absorbed into the quinoa.

When the quinoa is cooked add the apple juice ( or milk) , lemon juice, raisins ( or fruit) and spices.  Mix together and then add the vanilla last just before serving.

Serve warm.  I think this could make a good breakfast item too, not just a dessert.

The Chef didn’t mind it but he said he would have prefered it with some brown sugar or something on it.

It’s up to you.

Picture courtesy of Lindsey Toth

Here is my combo for “Pumpkin Spice”.  This is the basic amounts but I usually multiply it and make a small jar full to use at will

  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp dry ground ginger
  • 1/8 tsp allspice
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg

Shake it up and you’ve got pumpkin spice.

Comments on: "Quinoa pudding?" (6)

  1. What a creative use of quinoa – and it looks wonderful!

  2. I don’t understand. Not laden with sugar? But, but…

  3. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

What do you think?

