Good things to eat

Squash Soup

Here’s another quick easy soup recipe.

We had some left over squash kicking around that the Chef had been using to make ravioli filling.

So I pulled out the dutch oven, heated her up and added a few sloshes of olive oil.  Then added:

  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 carrots peeled and diced
  • 2 celery stocks diced

Cook these together till they are sweaty or even a little browning.  Then add:

  • the left over squash

Then add some herbs and spices if you wish.   I used….wait for it……pumpkin spice!!  It is very appropriate for Fall!   I also added a little cumin and some chili flakes to liven it up.   And some salt and pepper of course.

Then add some stock of your choice or water will do fine too.

Let this all simmer for a bit till the vegetables are nice and tender, then turn off the heat.  Let it cool a little, at least enough till it isn’t bubbling or anything.

Then take the hand blender to it.   Blend until nice and smooth.

At this point you could eat it now if you like but as is my way, I like to hide as many vegetables as possible in soup!  So I added some chopped kale and a few chopped mushrooms.

Turn the heat back on and heat back up until the kale and mushrooms are heated.

Then you are ready to go!

Squash soup

Comments on: "Squash Soup" (12)

  1. […] had some left over squash soup  ( click here for that recipe ) from the other day that needed used up but wasn’t really enough for both of us  to eat as […]

  2. whoah this blog is fantastic i love reading your posts. Keep up the good work! You know, many people are hunting around for this information, you could help them greatly.

  3. I’d have to test with you here. Which is not one thing I usually do! I take pleasure in reading a post that can make folks think. Additionally, thanks for allowing me to remark!

  4. What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It absolutely helpful and it has helped me out loads. I hope to contribute & aid other users like its helped me. Great job.

  5. Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is fantastic, let alone the content!

  6. This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

  7. The site style is great, the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

  8. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I am going to watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

What do you think?

