Good things to eat

Sometimes the BEST meals come from “cleaning out your fridge”!

That’s pretty much what this dish was all about.

I still had some left over sausage and peppers from the other night and it seems we always have some left over cooked chicken kickin around so that was the base for how this dish evolved.

I started with a hot deep skillet and then added:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • one large onion ( of your choice) coarsely sliced or chopped
  • 4 -5 gloves fresh chopped garlic

Let those cook up awhile and get to know each other.  Then add:

  • left over sausage and peppers
  • left over cooked chicken ( cubed up)
  • any other interesting left overs  ( I had about a 1/4 of caramelized onions for some reason)

Heat those through so that everything is nice and warm then add:

  • about a cup of heavy cream 

Now if you are a non-dairy type you could add crushed tomatoes or tomato sauce of some sort at this point and go in that direction.  But then we couldn’t very well call it “creamy chicken and sausage pasta” anymore.  So if you want that on your conscience so be it!

Heat until the cream is almost coming to a boil, turn it down a little and let it “reduce” by about half.

Then add in some of your other favorite flavours.  I added:

  • some poultry seasoning
  • some thyme
  • some oregano
  • some smokie paprika

keep stirring and then add some cheese if you wish.  Again, I was just cleaning out the fridge and found a partly used pack of pepper corn Boursin cheese which I added and a reasonable chunk of blue cheese to give it extra zing.

Once that was all melted down and everything was super creamy I added a few handfuls of washed baby spinach, just to give it some extra colour and nutrition count.

Then it was ready.

In goes your favorite cooked pasta, toss it up and there is no time you have a yummy yummy creamy pasta dish!

Top with a little fresh grated parmesan cheese if you have it and away you go.

Creamy pasta with chicken and sausage

Comments on: "Creamy chicken and sausage pasta" (13)

  1. Hey, good article! I will keep following your site 😉

  2. Reblogged this on what have we got here? and commented:

    Re-run Wednesday

  3. This is one of my favorite dishes, but I usually have to use some dairy-free yogurt to make it creamy. It’s such a comforting dish!

    • Does the yogurt make it tangy?

      • Mmm, not too much. The other spices balance it out. You’ve got to be clever when you’re lactose intolerant! 😉

        • Oh no…..a nice girl like you!

          • I know, it’s terrible! I took a food sensitivity test yesterday. We’ll see what my body *really* doesn’t like. I’m scared! But I’ll be relieved to know for sure.

            • Well….now I don’t want to be ranting girl but…….if they would just stop messing with the food then maybe it would stop making people sick!! I mean seriously…when I was a kid…I NEVER heard of anyone with food issues! I mean you might hate broccoli or something…but never allergic!!

              Best of luck, I hope you don’t have anything too restrictive! I know when I “suddenly” became allergic to shellfish……makes life a bit of a bummer!

            • I totally agree!! I’m positive that it’s the antibiotics in the beef and dairy that make my stomach hurt. I’m behind you all the way!

        • To be honest I don’t think I’ve ever had non dairy yogurt so perhaps it isn’t as tangy as the other. Sorry to hear about your troubles.

    • Yes comforting! I love to eat this while watching cooking shows!

  4. Creating a dish out of what we have left in the refrigerator can lead to some very good meals. Your looks terrific.

What do you think?

