Good things to eat

Good ol blueberry muffins

What better way to use up some left over blueberries ( I know I know WHO actually has leftover blueberries?? ) than good ol fashion blueberry muffins!I’ll give you the regular recipe but I have to admit that I didn’t use sugar.  We don’t keep white sugar in the house, except for the Chef’s secret stash that he thinks I don’t know about that he uses for his coffee!  So I used about 1/2 cup of agave syrup instead.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup soft butter
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 milk ( dairy or I used almond)
  • 2 cups flour ( of your choice)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries

I used the handy dandy mixmaster but it is easy enough to do by hand.

Cream together butter and sweet product.  Then add the eggs and milk.

Then add the dry ingredients.  It is best to mix them together before in another bowl and then add them, but I hate doing dishes so I just toss it all in the mixmaster.

When that is all nicely mixed, add the blueberries but stir them in by hand even if you are using an appliance so they don’t get all squished.

Then into a buttered muffin pan.

Nice thick blueberry batter

Bake at 350 degrees until the old “poking stick comes out clean” trick works.

Baked blueberry muffins

Let them cool down a little ( not TOO long) and you have a wonderful treat for you afternoon tea or your brunch.

Hard to get tired of these.

Warm blueberry muffins

*******************************************************************************************

What do you think?

