Good things to eat

Fish Stew

I’m not good at cooking fish.

Well, it’s more that I am intimidated by cooking fish.  I always fear it will be undercooked and I hate that squishy underdone feeling in my mouth.  So then I end up usually over cooking it.  And then there is the problem of it smelling up the house for days…….

So imagine my surprise with this dish!  It wasn’t smelly, you can’t over cook it and it was delicious!!

One small problem is that when I looked it up, it’s tradional name is Bacalao which is actually a Spanish dish traditionally eaten on special occasions like Christmas Eve or New Years Eve, but let me tell you I found it to be a lovely easy summer dish, with some crusty bread and a glass of screamingly cold white wine, things couldn’t get better.

The original recipe also called for dried salt cod, which, if that is your thing and you know how to deal with, by all means feel free to use, but I went with fresh fish.

Here’s what you’ll need more or less:

  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium onion diced
  • 4 cloves of fresh garlic minced
  • 1 pound of white fish ( I used halibut but haddock, tilapia and of course cod are good too) chopped into 1 inch size chunks
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes ( 14 ounces)
  • 1 chopped Anaheim or poblano chile pepper
  • 1/4 of chopped fresh cilantro
  • 2 tbsp pimento stuffed green olives sliced
  • 1 tbsp rinsed capers
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Get out your trusty ol dutch oven or heavy bottom pot.  Heat oil and add onions and cook a few minutes till they get sweaty looking, then add garlic and cook a minute or two longer.

Then add the fish, tomatoes with the juice, peppers, cilantro, olives, capers, oregano and salt.  Stir gently so you don’t rough up the fish.  Add a little extra water if it doesn’t looked covered enough.  Cover and simmer for about 20 minutes.

Now this wasn’t in the recipe when I made it but I think a shot of white wine would liven the party up a little so when you pour yourself a glass, feel free to accidentally spill a little in the pot.

We ate the soup warm but apparently you can eat it at room temperature just as well.

Top with a few chunks of fresh avocado and you are in business!

I honestly was shocked at how wonderful this dish was.  So easy and so tasty!  Give it a try!

**************************************************************************************************

Comments on: "Fish Stew" (2)

  1. I’ve seen it in the Caribbean and it’s popular in Puerto Rico. And there’s a restaurant in Newfoundland called Bacalao. I suspect any place that has a history of eating salt cod would have a version.

What do you think?

