Good things to eat

Raw Soup

One of my favorite things to eat in summer time whether I am trying to be “RAW” or not is a nice cold soup of some kind.

My favorite is one I found last summer, a raw corn and avocado soup.  Here’s what you will need:

  • 4 or 5 ears of fresh corn on the cob, corn taken off for about 4 cups of kernels 
  • 1 large ripe avocado
  • 1/4 small red onion or two green onions ( white and green parts) coarsely chopped
  • 1 good size handful of fresh cilantro leaves and stems okay too
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp chipotle tabasco ( click here to see what I mean ) but DON’T use this if being “RAW”
  • 1 pinch sea salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 cups of almond milk ( raw only if you are being “RAW”)

Toss all this stuff into the blender and whiz it up until it is a nice think creamy soup and then put in the fridge for at least 1/2 hour to chill it down.

Portion it up into bowls and garnish with a few kernels of saved corn, or some finely chopped  red pepper, or a few leaves of cilantro, or a combo of all of them.  I also find that it is helpful to chill the bowls before serving too.

Corn and avocado soup

Delish!!  And surprisingly filling.

Another nice “RAW” soup that I’ve tried is this Gazpacho( click here for recipe ).  This was really nice, however, if you are trying to follow the rules of “RAW” you can not toast the walnuts, they too must be raw and the vinegar is questionable, substitute with 2 tbsp of fresh squeezed lemon juice instead.  Pumpkin seeds would work well as a topping too.

But both of these make wonderful summer soups, “RAW” or not so give them a try!

Comments on: "Raw Soup" (7)

  1. Great recipe thanks for sharing.

  2. Good day I am so excited I found your weblog https://whathavewegothere.wordpress.com/2011/06/30/raw-soup, I really found you by chance, while I was searching on Bing for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a marvelous post and an all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.

  3. […] Soup ( click here for recipe […]

  4. […] Raw corn and avocado soup Share this:FacebookStumbleUponTwitterLinkedInPinterestTumblrPrintEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  5. You take raw corn: is that edible, not cooked? Your soup sounds lovely to me! I must try it soon! 🙂

  6. […] HERE for the original […]

What do you think?

