Good things to eat

Beet Brownies!

WHAT?

I know that’s what you’re thinking.  But please, let me explain.

I had just got home, it was raining, I hadn’t done groceries for a bit and frankly didn’t feel like going out again.  Trouble was, I was jonesin for some kind of afternoon, chocolatey treat.  What to do?

I didn’t have any butter, or milk and I only had one egg.   But I did have some flour and chocolate, it was a dilemma.

But then I saw some golden beets sitting on the table that I was going to juice but……..

So here’s what happened.

First I peeled and grated up three mediumish golden beets.

Then I popped them into the mixmaster with the paddle attachment.  Then added:

  • 1 egg
  • Juice of 1/2 of a sweet orange

Start beater and mix these ingredients thoroughly.  Then add:

  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 2 tbsp coco powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder

Keep mixing.

I would have used chocolate chips here but all I had was a big ol block of baking chocolate that was in the freezer, so in desperation, I took it out and shaved off about 1/4 cup worth with a big knife.

Keep mixing.

And then last but not least about 1/2 cup of flour.   Maybe a little more depending on how juicy the beets are.

Mix it all till you have a nice gooey batter.

Grease ( I didn’t have any butter so I used olive oil but butter would be better!) a baking dish and pour in the batter.

Bake in a 350 oven until it looks nice and firm and the old tooth pick coming out of the centre trick works.

You are gonna be SO surprised!!

I mean…..people make carrot cake and love it don’t they??  So why not beet brownies??

What do you think?

