Good things to eat

I don’t know why I don’t make this more?

Every once in awhile I remember that I used to make it and then make it again.  This time it was because I saw a jar of artichokes in the cupboard!

I can’t remember where I got this recipe but I remember the first time I made it.  One snowy winter night when I was staying with friends in the country and every Saturday night we would cook up a great dinner, have a few glasses of wine and have a dance party in the living room.

Here is what you’ll need:

  • 1 boneless/skinless chicken breast per person
  • 1/2 to 1 roasted red pepper (depending on size and yield) per person

Do you know how to roast up a pepper quickly?  Easy as pie….well…actually MUCH easier.

Wash the pepper, slice it in half and take out the seeds and any nasty bits.  Place it face down on a baking sheet, using parchment is best but I was out.  Then roast  them in a hot oven 400 to 450 degrees.  Keep an eye on them until they get black spots and look wrinkly.

Then pop them into a bowl that you want to cover with a plate or something.  Or you can put them in a zip lock bag and let them sweat a little.  This will make it easy to remove the skin.

You will also need:

  • 3 cloves of minced garlic
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 1 6 oz jar of marinated artichoke
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • salt & pepper

Heat up your favorite big skillet that also has a lid and drizzle in the olive oil.   Cut up the chicken breasts into bite size piece and toss into oil ( gently like, you don’t want to splash hot oil on you) and brown on all sides.  Season with salt & pepper.

When the chicken is nice and browned, add the minced garlic and slices of roast pepper.  Stir for a minute or two and then add the whole contents of the  artichoke jar, liquid included!

When that is well mixed, add the white wine, stir, turn down to like number two on the dial and then cover and let simmer for about 20 minutes to half hour to let all the flavours get to know each other.

On this occasion I just put it on top of some brown rice that I had cooked with left over leek broth as the liquid.  But the first time I made it, I paired it with the side dishes of steamed quinoa and spaghetti squash!

Comments on: "An old favorite chicken dish" (4)

  1. Yumm!

  2. I am totally going to make this. Thanks for the excellent instructions!

  3. Reblogged this on what have we got here? and commented:

    Re-run Wednesday

What do you think?

