Good things to eat

Roasted yam

Now that you have your kale pancakes, you’ll need something to put on them.

Here’s what I happened to make this time.

First the roasted yam.

Heat your oven to 350 degrees, then in a glass casserole dish add:

  • Large diced yam
  • Large diced onion
  • a drizzle of olive oil
  • sprinkle of salt and pepper

When I’m going to roast yams like this I usually first cut them into rounds.

Then I cut those rounds down the middle and then into either quarters or sixths depending on the size of the round.  This assures that you are getting a bit of skin on every part of your dice, which gets nice and crispy when you roast them.

Then dice up a regular onion into nice chunky bits and then toss all of the ingredients together in your roasting pan.

Bake until the onions are caramelized and the potatoes get a nice brown on them.  Crispy on the outside and soft in the centre.

This is a delightful combination because they are both sweet and savory at the same time.

The roasted yam is a great side dish at anytime.

Comments on: "Roasted yam" (12)

  1. perfect timing. i have some purple yams from the farmers’ market and wasn’t quite sure what to do with them. roasted purple yams coming up! thanks for sharing.

    • Glad to be of service! Add a few toasted walnuts and a little blue cheese (if that’s your thing) and you have delectable yam salad!!

  2. linda duguay said:

    Lorrie, this sounds great. I have never tossed in the onions before, nor quite figured out how to cut the yams. Thanks

  3. […] but this was a first for purple yams in my kitchen. so now what? inspired by fellow foodie blogger what have we got here?‘s recipe, i decided to try roasting purple […]

  4. […] by getting your yams going.   ( click here ) to see an earlier post on how to make roasted […]

  5. […] with roasted yams and onions.  ( click here for tips on that […]

  6. […] started by do up a batch of my Roasted Yams but instead of adding my favorite poultry spice to them, I used pumpkin pie spice instead!  And a […]

  7. […] as side dishes I made my old stand by “roasted yams” with toasted […]

  8. […] I got started with a nice batch of roasted yams and roasted […]

  9. […] potato or yam, but I decided to roast the yam with a small diced onion like I do in my side dish ROASTED YAM to add a whole new depth of flavour to the […]

What do you think?

