Good things to eat

Kale pancakes

All right, I know what you’re thinking .  “WHAT??  Kale pancakes??  Really??”

Yes, it’s true.  But don’t worry, these are delicious AND a great way to hide the highly nutritious kale from the leafy green haters!!

I’ll admit that I have never eaten just kale pancakes, although I’m sure they would be just fine.  Instead I always use them as the base for other interesting dishes.  A side dish, an accompaniment, the starch item to balance a plate.  And they go with a multitude of things.

Pretty much anywhere you would use rice as a side dish, you could use the savory kale pancakes.

It is especially good with any sort of “saucey” item like stew, curry, even stir fries.  Just line the plate with them and start piling on the toppings!

Depending on the topping, these can be a regular dish, or a vegetarian dish.  Or if you make the pancake without the help of eggs, it can be a lovely vegan dish.

Here’s what you will need, in a blender:

  • 1 small regular onion roughly chopped  or 4 – 5 green onions
  • 1 peeled clove garlic

Whiz these up in the blender with a few drops of water till they are well blended.

Then add the ingredients for your favorite pancake mix but exclude the sugar or only put half what the recipe would call for.

  • 2 cups sifted all-purpose flour (or whole wheat, spelt etc whatever you are into)
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 egg (optional if eggs aren’t your thing)  just add 3 tsp of baking powder instead
  • 1 1/2 c. milk  ( I use almond but any milk will do)
  • 2 tbsp olive oil

Whiz all this up and then add 1/2 to one whole bunch of kale making sure to remove the middle stems.  I just rip it off the stem, that seems to give you small enough pieces.  Add it a bit at a time to the blender and whiz it down until all is mixed and you have enough.

Once you have your nice green batter, it’s time to make your pancakes!

Heat up your pan and add a little oil so they won’t stick.  Then pour in enough batter for what ever size you’d like your pancake to be.  You could even make more than one at a time if they are going to be smaller.

Then, just like regular pancakes, you will wait for the tell tale bubbles to appear on top of the cake and then it’s time to turn her over!

When they are done, keep them on a tray or heat proof dish in a 200 degree oven till you are ready to eat them.

And there you have them.  Now they are ready to top with your toppings.   The saucier the topping the tastier they get because the sauce will soak into the pancake making them double delicious!

Comments on: "Kale pancakes" (27)

  1. Naomi Emmerson said:

    Can’t wait to try these! Hey. Wondering if one adds more liquid if one can make these into crepes and wrap them around the yummies inside.

    • Funny you should ask that, I was thinking the exact same thing when I made them this time….all sorts of savory fillings! Totally yummy!

  2. Actually, I could totally see these as crepes – they sound very good and I may give this a try. Stuffed with a little cheese, these could be very yummy.

  3. […] you saw my recipe for KALE pancakes earlier this year  ( click here to check them out ) you know that I am a big fan of savory […]

  4. […] I whipped up a batch of spinach pancake mix.   ( click here  ) for Kale pancakes and exchange the kale for  spinach and add a little extra liquid so the […]

  5. Tamara Lukie said:

    YUM! My entire family loves kale so I don’t need to hide it, but I’m 1 million percent sure they would die for green pancakes!!! thx. this is great!
    T

  6. […] first ones were the KALE pancakes.   A particular favorite because I like to hide […]

  7. biggsis said:

    When my son was a toddler I fed him pancakes with a variety of pureed veggies mixed in. He would beat on his high chair tray and shout pan-cakes, pan-cakes! Funny I’d forgotten about the possibility for savory, veggies pancakes. Will try again soon – thanks for the reminder!

    • So glad to bring them back for you. They really are a great way to hide all kinds of stuff……but I mean that in a good way of course! Kale all round!

  8. Not waiting for St. Patty’s day to try these! I make Spinach crepes, but Kale is such a powerhouse of nutrition, am anxious to cook some up for my family. Cheers!

  9. This is a brand new idea for me! I can’t wait to try this out. They kind if remind of the injera you get at Ethiopian restaurants. My brain is churning with all sorts of toppings ideas. What’s your favorite topping?

  10. I made these tonight the final result was so delicious! I’m not a very big fan of kale and when I tasted the batter it seemed too bitter. But once cooked? Perfect. Thank you for a brand new way to eat veggies.

    I did have one problem, through. I wasn’t able to get the pancake cooked all the way through. The outside would burn but the inside was still batter. I tried low heat too. Maybe I used too much kale? My batter was more green than yours.
    Any ideas where I might have gone wrong?

    • Hmmm…interesting. It is really important not to use too much batter at a time. Pour a dollop in the middle and then twirl the pan quickly so it spreads out thin and evenly. Also make sure your batter isn’t too thick by adding a little extra liquid. That way it will spread well. So glad you like this, I just love them “under” regular food and then the flavours and sauce of whatever else soak in and make them double delish! I’ve also tried them as crepes and then rolling stuff in them….just make the batter thinner than usual.

  11. […] Meanwhile whip up a batch of your favorite pancake batter ( or try this one). […]

  12. […] it also works just great for making pancakes, like kale pancakes, or […]

  13. […] google en je zult inspiratie vinden. Op de site van whathavewegothere.wordpress.com kwam ik een recept voor boerenkool pannenkoek tegen. Naar eigen wens heb ik ingrediënten gebruikt […]

  14. This looks interesting. I would like to try on a weekend brunch, but a question first. If I eat kale in salad (without cooking it) it gives biggest cramps in my stomach.. So do you think it has something to do with cooking / not cooking kale? Would I have the same cramps if I cooked this pancakes – because they look delicious, but I recently had a very painful experience with kale so i am afraid even to try :/ what else would you recommend, if not kale?

    • Kale has only recently become “trendy” to eat raw. It is really a brazing green and should be cooked or at the very least chopped fine, so I am not surprised that it gives you trouble. That’s why I like these pancakes so much. First of all you are pulverizing the kale in the blender ( spinach works just fine in this dish too by the way) and then it is getting mixed in and doesn’t taste of kale but just more of a “green” pancake. It is so good as the starch elememnt of a dish. I will put it at the bottom of the plate and then pour something very “saucy” like chili or beans or lentil stew….anything with a lot of sauce and then it soaks into the pancake and is just great! BUT you are still getting the benefit of the green vegetable! Everybody wins!! Please let me know how they turn out if you try them.

  15. […] am a big fan of kale!  And that I like to use it in untraditional places.  Case and point in my kale pancakes.  But I have to say that this recipe is one of most looked at postings on this blog.  And in […]

  16. […] don’t show up that well in this picture, but I made mini versions of my famous Kale Pancakes.  Then to add some freshness to it all, they were alternated with leaves of Belgium endive.  Then […]

What do you think?

