Good things to eat

My Favorite Soup

This is truly my favorite soup.

I guess you could call it Thai inspired, but again it goes back to my shellfish allergy and not being able to eat in Asian style restaurants.

The original recipe comes from my friend Mandy who made this for her birthday party many moons ago.  In fact sometimes she even asks me how to make it now.

And it really is the best thing to eat if you are feeling a little on the low side because it is so full of fortifying nutritious things, you can’t help but feel stronger.

Now the amounts for the ingredients are estimates and as available.  That’s what’s great about it too, you can improvise with what you have, but I will give you the basic things that should be there.

Let’s start with a good heavy soup pot or dutch oven on medium heat and add:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil and let it heat up

then add

  • one medium size diced onion
  • 2 tbsp minced raw ginger
  • 3 cloves minced garlic

the add (optional):  but adds extra veg

  • 1 diced carrot
  • 1 celery stick

keep stirring these till they start to get slightly brown and then add:

  • 1 tsp chili flakes ( more if you like it spicier)
  • 1 tsp cumin powder
  • 1 tbsp curry powder

then add:

  • 2 heaping tbsp of natural crunchy style peanut butter ( more if you are PB crazy like me!)

mix well into the veg and then add:

  • 1 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp good soya sauce or Bragg sauce

mix well to loosen everything up

At this point we add:

  • 1 cup diced cooked chicken   or
  • 1 cup diced tofu 

or a combination of both if that’s your thing.  I suppose you could also add cooked shrimp if you wanted to.

Stir everything until it is all well coated.  Then add:

  • 4 – 5 cups of broth or water

I make my own chicken broth by just boiling up some chicken breasts on the bone and then I use the chicken in the soup. And the homemade chicken broth adds that extra fortification if you are feeling poorly.  But you can use your favorite store-bought broth.  Water will work but it doesn’t give you quite as rich of a soup.

Bring it all to a boil and then let simmer for 15 to 30 minutes.

then add just before serving:  ( this is optional but boosts the nutrient count)

  • 1 cup chopped kale leaves or baby spinach

Meanwhile

You will need large bowls to serve this soup in.  Then add to each bowl:

  • 1 package of ramen style noodles ( be SURE to discard the “flavor pack” included in the package)

With the noodles at the bottom of the bowl, ladle in the soup enough to cover the noodles

Then place a plate upside down over each bowl for 5 – 10 minutes giving the soup time to soften up the noodles.

Check to see if the noodles have softened up by giving the whole bowl a stir with a chop stick or spoon.  When they are ready to go, garnish with chopped green onions, chopped peanuts and a squirt of lemon juice.

I find the best way to eat this soup is with a spoon AND chopsticks!  Enjoy!!

Thai noodle soup

The beauty of this soup is that you can add or subtract ingredients based on what you have available and can easily be made as a vegan dish too.

Either way, it is always very comforting.

Comments on: "My Favorite Soup" (8)

  1. Mm-mm Good! thank goodness you’ve put it down in writing, now I won’t have to ask you to remind me how to make it! I would add fresh chopped coriander, too! YUM!

  2. I’ve made this before from your recipe – DELICIOUS!

  3. Oh, this sounds perfect! (I can imagine slurping it up on a rainy day…)

  4. It will cure what ailes you!!

  5. I am making this soup now with your recipe open. It smells go-oo-ood!

  6. […] Click here to see “My Favorite Soup” recipe. […]

  7. […] week night I had the idea that I was just going to whip up a batch of my tried and true “Favorite Soup“. Which is usually made with chicken or tofu as the base, but I didn’t have either of […]

What do you think?

