Good things to eat

We are having some people in for a home-made pasta party next week.  We have one of those metal pasta makers, the kind you clamp on to your table and crank the dough through till it’s flat enough.  But I’m not allowed to use it, so today I decided to try my own thing.

I have one of those fancy Omega  juicers, the kind you can make all sorts of things with, one of which is apparently pasta.  It comes with a bunch of different nozzles that go on the front where the pulp normally comes out.  I’ve been wanting to try the pasta feature forever.

I thought if I were going to all this trouble, why not make it impressive?  So I thought I’d make beet flavoured pasta.

First I needed beets.  I used the juicer in the normal way and juiced three small beets.  Then I put the juice in a small sauce pan and reduced it down till it was almost syrupy.  My resident Chef told me to do that instead of just using the straight juice, otherwise the pasta will just come out pink instead of red.

Meanwhile, I made the pasta dough in the KitchenAid  mix master.  It was a multiple appliance day! 

Having never made pasta dough before, I used the recipe found on this website:

 

Only when the recipe calls for water, I used the reduced beet  juice instead.

Once the dough was ready, then came the fun part.  Might I just say for the record, that I highly recommend this part as two person operation.  I did it alone, but it took a lot of maneuvering and a lot of time.

It helps if you put a bit of flour in and around the feeder of the juicer before you start shoving the dough in.  Roll the dough into a nice sausage shape, a little thinner than the opening of the feeder.  Start the juicer and slowly lower the dough into the feeder.  Once it reaches the auger it will start to be pulled in, but eventually you will have to help it with the plunger.

This is where it gets all crazy and you need an extra set of hands.  You are squashing the dough in on top and then the noodles  start  coming out the front.  I found I had to keep stopping and starting so that I could cut off the lengths of pasta and lay them out.  They were coming out four strands at a time and if you aren’t fast they will stick together.  If this happens and you can’t gently pull them apart, no worries, just shove them back in the feeder for another go round.

It took me a couple of goes to get the hang of it, but once you do, it will be fine.  The problem was what to do with the noodles once they came out of the machine.  My only thought was from all those movies I’ve seen set in Italian kitchens where they “dry” the pasta.  I put some tea towels on the back of my kitchen chairs and voila!  Pasta driers!

drying pasta

More drying pasta

 Clean up wasn’t that fun.  Keep in mind that there will be a nice chunk of dough still left in the machine.  This can be rescued and used for something if you wanted to. 
 
Washing up the juicer parts was a little challenging but that oversized toothbrush that came in the  box finally came in handy.
 
Once the pasta is dry, I pictured rolling it up into those birds nest type things you see the “fresh” pasta at the grocery store in.  But once it was dry it seemed to crack easily so instead I had to find a container that I could lay it in length wise.
 

Pasta ready to cook

 
Ideally you want to use it right away, but mine will have to keep a day or two.
 
I’ll let you know how it turns out!
  
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Comments on: "Can you really make pasta with a juicer?" (31)

  1. Nice looking pasta !

  2. Cool red pasta.

  3. We have a pasta maker and have yet to take it out of the box. Thanks to the success of your pasta making adventure I am inspired to give it a go! Can’t wait to read about how yours tastes!

  4. mmmmmmmmmm
    Come cook for us !!
    🙂

  5. Looks very impressive! It is definitely not something I would try though……..way above my food making abilities!!!!

  6. Hey, that looks pretty impressive. Can’t wait to find out how it tastes.

  7. I like your pasta dryers!

  8. OMG, you have way more patience than I ever would. However, here’s a trick to keep you pasta from drying out if you want to make those little nests…lay you pasta out on a damp (not wet) tea-towel, and cover with another until you are ready to build your nest. Is this a spring robin/nesting thing? In the words of Julia Child, ‘bon apetite’.

  9. I love the colour – I wonder what kind of sauce you will make.

  10. tina moynagh said:

    that pasta has to be the most original yummy looking ever, hope it tastes as good as it looks

  11. Hi Lorrie,

    I love your method, and that pasta looks gorgeous! Looking forward to hearing how it tasted, too!

    Alisa

  12. it’s just beautiful, Lorrie. I shall happily post a review after the tasting…lucky me!

  13. Can’t wait to hear how it all works out. Wish I was there – I do miss your cooking!

  14. I tried that years ago with our food processor. The juice of whatever stained every thing it was a total mess. I would never have made beet pasta.

  15. Wow what an experiment. Love the idea of the beet juice. The pasta looks great but yeah I can imagine the clean up part must have been challenging.

  16. I just couldnt leave your website before telling you that we really enjoyed the quality information you offer to your visitors… Will be back often to check up on new stuff you post!

  17. […] Click  HERE  to check out what my very first blog topic was! […]

  18. I was surprised to find out you can make pasta with certain kind of juicers. Like you said the omega juicer is one of them. Found a omega 8006 pasta making video you guys might find helpful.
    My favorite part is, as you have done, replace water with vegetable juices. You can make really colorful pastas. Kids love it, and they won’t even know they are eating vegetables.

    • Thanks for your comment.
      I agree, I was very surprised and thought those attachments were much like all the strange parts that come with food processors that you never use because you don’t know what they do!!

  19. Wow! This is really creative and such a beautiful result. I’m a bit of a lazy cook so I don’t know if I would ever undertake this. But I definitely want to eat it!

    • Well my big thing is that I always want to know exactly what is in my food and the only way to really achieve that is to make it yourself! But this was just a crazy experiment that turned out great! thanks for stopping by!

  20. My spouse and I stumbled over here by a different page and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to exploring your web page again.

  21. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it, you may be a great author.I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and will often come back in the foreseeable future. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great writing, have a nice weekend!

  22. […] “Can you really make pasta with a juicer“ […]

  23. […] The first ever blog post was this one:  Can you really make pasta with a juicer?  […]

  24. […] very first blog was called ” Can you really make pasta with a Juicer” and was featured right here on February 19th, […]

What do you think?

